- The Short Answer: What a ACP-AE Actually Is
- Who Issues It and Who Delivers the Exam
- The Six Exam Domains
- How the Exam Is Built: Questions Then Live Tasks
- Scoring: What 700/1000 Does and Doesn't Tell You
- Fees, Vouchers, and Booking Mechanics
- How Much Preparation to Plan For
- Who Benefits From the Credential
- Sequencing Your Study by Domain
- Validity and Recertification
- Frequently Asked Questions
- ACP-AE here means Adobe Certified Professional in Visual Effects & Motion Graphics Using Adobe After Effects, delivered through Certiport.
- The exam has six objective domains and runs 30-35 questions/tasks in 50 minutes, ending with live After Effects work.
- Passing requires 700 on a 1000 scaled score; Certiport does not publish pass/fail rates.
- US OnVUE costs USD 150; a US-only CATC voucher costs USD 95 and is not valid for OnVUE.
The Short Answer: What a ACP-AE Actually Is
If you have landed here asking "what is a ACP-AE," the answer is specific: it is the Adobe Certified Professional in Visual Effects & Motion Graphics Using Adobe After Effects credential. It verifies that you can work in Adobe After Effects at a professional entry level, setting up projects, organizing compositions, building visual elements, animating them, and publishing finished media.
The acronym "ACP-AE" is the identifier this site uses for that credential. It is worth being precise here, because the same letters are used by unrelated certifications in other industries. Nothing on this page concerns those; everything below refers only to the Adobe After Effects exam. We also treat "ACP-AE" as a convenient label rather than a separately verified official exam code, so when you book, search for the Adobe After Effects exam by its full name.
For a quick orientation on naming, see our companion explainers: What Is ACP-AE?, What Does ACP-AE Stand For?, and the broader ACP-AE certification overview.
Who Issues It and Who Delivers the Exam
Adobe owns the credential and defines what it covers. The exam itself is administered by Certiport, a Pearson VUE business, which handles registration, proctoring, scoring, and the certification record. You will interact with both brands: Adobe's certification pages for program information, and Certiport/Pearson VUE for booking and testing.
There are two ways to sit the exam:
- Certiport Authorized Testing Center (CATC): a proctored session at a center, including center-arranged remote delivery.
- OnVUE: online proctoring from your own location, available in English only.
General OnVUE rules apply, including identification checks, a private and monitored room, and removal of books and notes, subject to any program-specific allowances. Whether any specific resources or calculator exceptions apply to the After Effects exam is not something we can confirm, so check the current candidate instructions at booking time rather than assuming.
The Six Exam Domains
The official exam objectives for the 2025 version are organized under six headings. Adobe and Certiport publish no percentage weights for them and do not name a highest-weight domain, so treat all six as examinable and avoid any source that claims precise weightings. For a deeper walkthrough, read our complete guide to all six ACP-AE content areas.
Domain 1: Working in the Visual Effects and Motion Graphics Industry
This domain covers the professional context around the software rather than button-clicking alone.
- Understanding how motion graphics and visual effects work fits into production workflows
- Communicating with clients and collaborators about project requirements
- Awareness of intellectual property, licensing, and responsible use of assets
- Recognizing the role of audience, purpose, and delivery platform in design decisions
Domain 2: Project Setup and Interface
You need to move around After Effects confidently and configure a project correctly before building anything.
- Navigating panels, workspaces, and the timeline
- Creating projects and importing footage and assets
- Configuring project settings that affect everything downstream
- Managing preferences and customizing the workspace for efficiency
Domain 3: Organizing Compositions
Compositions are the structural unit of After Effects work, and this domain tests whether you can structure them sensibly.
- Creating compositions with appropriate dimensions, frame rate, and duration
- Working with layers, including stacking order, parenting, and layer management
- Nesting and pre-composing to keep complex projects manageable
- Using labels, naming, and organization habits that survive collaboration
Domain 4: Creating and Modifying Visual Elements
This is where design and effects work live: building and altering what appears on screen.
- Creating text, shapes, and solids and adjusting their properties
- Applying and adjusting effects and layer styles
- Using masks and mattes to isolate or reveal parts of a layer
- Color and appearance adjustments to match a design intent
Domain 5: Animating Visual Elements
Motion is the core of the discipline, so expect meaningful emphasis on keyframing and timing.
- Setting keyframes for transform and other animatable properties
- Controlling easing and interpolation to shape how motion feels
- Working with the graph editor and timing adjustments
- Animating text and shape properties, and applying motion to supporting elements
Domain 6: Publishing Digital Media
A piece of work only counts when it exits the application in a usable form.
- Rendering and exporting compositions in suitable formats
- Choosing output settings that suit the destination platform
- Using the render queue and understanding export options
- Verifying and preparing final deliverables
Note that the specific tools, settings, and terms listed above are illustrative examples of what each heading touches, not an exhaustive subtopic list. The official objectives PDF is the authoritative source for the precise wording.
How the Exam Is Built: Questions Then Live Tasks
The ACP-AE exam is not a pure multiple-choice test. It begins with selected-response questions and moves into live-in-the-app tasks, where you perform work directly inside After Effects. That second half changes how you should prepare: knowing the name of a feature is not enough if you cannot find it and use it under time pressure.
| Exam Detail | What We Can Confirm |
|---|---|
| Question/task count | 30-35 questions/tasks for the After Effects listing |
| Time | 50 minutes, excluding administrative seat time |
| Format | Selected-response questions followed by live After Effects tasks |
| Scored vs. unscored items | Not disclosed |
| Theory vs. task split | Not disclosed |
| Exam version | 2025 objectives (v 25.x) |
You may see Adobe's general FAQ cite 30 questions and another Adobe page cite 30-45 across the whole certification program. The After Effects-specific listing from Certiport is the more precise source, which is why 30-35 is the range to plan around. Because the exact form size and the scored/unscored breakdown are undisclosed, avoid any study plan that depends on knowing how many items of each type you will face.
For a realistic read on difficulty, see How Hard Is the ACP-AE Exam?, which explains why the live-task portion tends to be the real separator for candidates who only studied theory.
Scoring: What 700/1000 Does and Doesn't Tell You
The passing score is 700 on a scale of 1000. That is a scaled score, and it should not be read as "you need 70% correct." Scaled scoring adjusts for the particular form you receive, so a raw percentage cannot be derived from the number. Certiport also explicitly does not publish pass/fail rates, so any specific pass-rate figure you see quoted online is not backed by an official source. Our own pass rate analysis explains what can and cannot be said about outcomes, and the passing score guide goes deeper on the scaling question.
Key Takeaway
Do not aim for a raw "70%." Because the score is scaled and the scored/unscored split is undisclosed, the only safe goal is competence across all six domains, with extra drilling on the live tasks where mistakes are costly.
Fees, Vouchers, and Booking Mechanics
Pricing depends on how you test, and the two routes are not interchangeable:
| Route | Price (US) | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| OnVUE (online proctored) | USD 150 | Figure per Adobe's FAQ; English only |
| CATC voucher | USD 95 | US-only; centers may add proctoring fees and set their own packages |
The CATC voucher is not valid for OnVUE or for Pearson VUE Testing Centers. That is a common trap: buying the cheaper voucher and then discovering you cannot use it for online delivery. There is no published member/nonmember pricing structure. Because individual centers set their own prices, the all-in cost at a CATC can differ from the headline voucher price. For a full breakdown, including what else to budget, see the ACP-AE certification cost guide, and check dates and scheduling in ACP-AE exam dates.
How Much Preparation to Plan For
Adobe's guidance recommends roughly 150 hours of instruction and hands-on practice. This is recommended preparation, not an eligibility rule: you do not have to buy a course, document your hours, or hold a degree to register, and no references are required. Anyone can book the exam; the 150 hours is simply a sense of how much practice typically underlies a comfortable pass. Our requirements guide covers eligibility in more detail.
The hands-on emphasis matters. Reading about keyframes or masks is a poor substitute for building a short animation from scratch, rendering it, and checking the output. If your preparation is mostly watching tutorials, shift the balance toward doing.
Who Benefits From the Credential
The certification suits people entering or formalizing work in motion graphics and visual effects, including students, career changers, freelancers building credibility, and junior production staff. Typical environments where After Effects skills are valued include:
- Video production and post-production studios
- Marketing and in-house creative teams producing social, web, and broadcast content
- Agencies delivering animated explainers, titles, and promos
- Education programs that teach digital media production
It is worth being candid: a certification demonstrates verified baseline skill, but hiring in this field is heavily portfolio-driven. The credential works best alongside a reel that shows real projects. We avoid quoting salary numbers here because no verified figure is tied to this specific credential; our salary guide and jobs overview discuss earning potential qualitatively, and the worth-it analysis weighs cost against benefit.
Sequencing Your Study by Domain
Rather than a generic weekly template, order your preparation by dependency: later domains assume you already control earlier ones. A reasonable pattern, scaled to your available hours, looks like this:
Foundations: Domains 2 and 3
- Get fluent with the interface, project settings, and importing assets
- Practice building, nesting, and pre-composing compositions
- Reason: everything else is built on these skills
Build and Animate: Domains 4 and 5
- Create text, shapes, masks, and effects, then animate them
- Spend time in the graph editor shaping easing
- Reason: this is the heaviest hands-on territory and rewards repetition
Deliver and Context: Domains 6 and 1
- Render and export to different destinations
- Review industry practice, licensing, and client communication concepts
- Reason: these are quicker to learn once the technical base is solid
Timed practice
- Run mixed question sets, then timed in-app tasks within the 50-minute constraint
For a fuller plan, use the ACP-AE study guide, keep the cheat sheet handy for last-minute review, and test yourself with the practice questions on our main practice test site.
Validity and Recertification
The certification is valid for three years. To renew, you purchase and pass the current version of the exam; there is no published continuing-education or CPE renewal route. Because the exam version may change between attempts, expect to re-check the current objectives before renewing instead of reusing old notes. Information on other Adobe programs, such as Adobe Experience Cloud renewal rules, does not apply here.
Frequently Asked Questions
It refers to the Adobe Certified Professional in Visual Effects & Motion Graphics Using Adobe After Effects. The acronym is a label used on this site and is not a separately verified official exam code. See What Does ACP-AE Mean? for more.
Certiport lists 30-35 questions/tasks and 50 minutes, excluding administrative seat time. It starts with selected-response questions and finishes with live tasks performed inside After Effects.
A scaled 700 out of 1000. This is not a verified raw 70%, and Certiport does not publish pass/fail rates.
Through OnVUE in the US, the exam is USD 150 per Adobe's FAQ. A US-only CATC voucher is USD 95, though centers may add proctoring fees, and that voucher cannot be used for OnVUE.
No. About 150 hours of instruction and hands-on practice is recommended, but it is not a mandatory purchase or documented eligibility rule, and no degree is required.
Three years. Renewal means purchasing and passing the current exam, since no CE/CPE renewal route is published.