- The ACP-AE Acronym Decoded
- Who Stands Behind the Credential
- What the Name Promises: Six Exam Objective Headings
- How the Exam Is Built: Questions Plus Live Tasks
- What the Score and Validity Tell Employers
- Fees, Vouchers and Delivery Options
- Why This ACP-AE Is Not the Other ACP-AE
- Who Should Care About This Credential
- Preparing in Line With What the Credential Measures
- Frequently Asked Questions
- ACP-AE here means Adobe Certified Professional in Visual Effects & Motion Graphics Using Adobe After Effects.
- The exam is delivered through Certiport, a Pearson VUE business, and covers six official objective headings.
- Certiport lists 30-35 questions/tasks in 50 minutes, mixing selected-response items with live After Effects tasks.
- A passing score is 700 on a 1000 scaled range, not a raw 70 percent.
The ACP-AE Acronym Decoded
If you searched for the meaning of ACP-AE and landed here, the short answer is this: on this site, ACP-AE refers to the Adobe Certified Professional in Visual Effects & Motion Graphics Using Adobe After Effects credential. Break the shorthand into its parts and the meaning becomes clear:
- ACP stands for Adobe Certified Professional, the tier of Adobe's certification program that verifies working proficiency in a specific Adobe application or discipline.
- AE stands for After Effects, Adobe's application for compositing, visual effects and motion graphics.
One honest caveat belongs up front. "ACP-AE" is the shorthand used on this site for the credential. It is not presented as a separately verified official exam code, so you should always confirm the exact exam title when you register. The full credential name is what appears on your certificate and what employers will look for.
For a quick orientation beyond this article, see our companion pages on what ACP-AE is and what ACP-AE stands for. If you want the broader picture of the credential itself, the ACP-AE certification overview is the natural next stop.
Who Stands Behind the Credential
The credential is an Adobe certification, and the exam is administered through Certiport, which is a Pearson VUE business. That relationship matters for meaning: the "Adobe Certified Professional" label signals that the skills being tested are defined by the software vendor itself, and the testing infrastructure is run by an established proctored-exam provider.
The current objectives are published as the 2025 exam version (v 25.x) in a six-page Adobe/Certiport exam objectives document. Certiport's own index groups 2026 and 2025 under that same 2025-labelled objectives link, and its release notes show new-exam and update entries during 2026. Those entries do not establish a separately revised 2026 blueprint, so the practical advice is simple: match your study software to the version you are actually booked to test on.
What the Name Promises: Six Exam Objective Headings
"Visual Effects & Motion Graphics Using Adobe After Effects" is not just a title. It maps to six official objective headings that define what a certified professional is expected to do. Understanding them is the fastest way to understand what the acronym actually certifies. Our full breakdown lives in the ACP-AE exam domains guide; here is the meaning-focused version.
Domain 1: Working in the Visual Effects and Motion Graphics Industry
This is the professional-context heading. It covers the vocabulary and practices of the field rather than button-clicking alone.
- Understanding how motion graphics and visual effects work is planned, reviewed and delivered
- Recognizing project requirements, audiences and the professional expectations around client work
- Awareness of legal and ethical considerations when using assets
Domain 2: Project Setup and Interface
Before any animation happens, a professional sets up a project correctly and navigates the workspace efficiently.
- Creating and configuring projects and importing footage and other assets
- Working with the panels, tools and workspace layout
- Making sensible choices about project settings so work stays organized
Domain 3: Organizing Compositions
Compositions are the heart of After Effects. This heading tests how well you structure them.
- Creating and configuring compositions and managing layers within them
- Understanding the timeline and how layers stack and relate
- Using nesting and precomposing as organizational tools
Domain 4: Creating and Modifying Visual Elements
This is where design and effects work lives: building and adjusting what appears on screen.
- Creating shapes, text and other visual elements
- Applying and adjusting effects and working with masks
- Modifying visual properties to achieve a specific look
Domain 5: Animating Visual Elements
The "motion" in motion graphics. Candidates must show they can bring elements to life with intent.
- Working with keyframes and animation properties
- Controlling timing and easing so movement feels deliberate
- Using animation tools to build sequences that match a brief
Domain 6: Publishing Digital Media
A finished composition has to leave the application in a usable form.
- Rendering and exporting for the intended destination
- Choosing appropriate output settings and formats
- Delivering work that meets the stated requirements
The listed terms and tools above are illustrative examples of what each heading covers, not an exhaustive subtopic list. The documented objectives publish no percentage weights, so no domain is officially "the biggest." Be wary of any site that claims otherwise.
How the Exam Is Built: Questions Plus Live Tasks
The meaning of the credential is reflected in how it is tested. This is not a pure vocabulary quiz. According to the program's description, candidates face selected-response questions followed by live-in-the-app After Effects tasks, meaning you perform work inside the actual software rather than only answering about it.
| Exam Detail | What Is Documented |
|---|---|
| Question/task count | 30-35 questions/tasks per Certiport's After Effects listing |
| Time | 50 minutes, excluding administrative seat time |
| Format | Selected-response questions followed by live After Effects tasks |
| Passing score | 700 on a 1000 scaled range |
| Language of remote delivery | English-only for OnVUE |
| Scored/unscored and theory/task split | Not disclosed |
You may see other numbers quoted. Adobe's generic FAQ mentions 30 questions, and a program-wide page mentions a broader 30-45 range. Because Certiport's After Effects-specific listing gives 30-35 questions/tasks, that is the figure to rely on. The exact form count and the split between theory and hands-on items are not published.
What the Score and Validity Tell Employers
The 700/1000 scaled score
A passing result is 700 out of 1000 on a scaled range. This is not the same as getting 70 percent of the items correct. Scaled scoring is designed to keep results comparable across different exam forms, so a raw-percentage target is not a verified way to think about passing. Our dedicated page on the ACP-AE passing score explains how to interpret it.
Pass rates are not published
Certiport explicitly does not publish pass/fail rates. Anyone quoting a precise ACP-AE pass percentage is guessing or borrowing from another program. For a careful read of what can and cannot be said, see the ACP-AE pass rate discussion.
Three-year validity
The credential is valid for three years. To recertify, you purchase and pass the current exam; there is no published continuing-education route for renewal. That detail is part of what the credential means to a hiring manager: it reflects skill on a specific software version at a specific point in time, and the three-year clock nudges holders to stay current as After Effects evolves.
Fees, Vouchers and Delivery Options
Registration mechanics are part of understanding any credential, and the ACP-AE has two distinct paths with different prices.
| Path | Documented Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| US OnVUE (remote) | USD 150 per Adobe's FAQ | English-only; online proctoring with ID and a private monitored room |
| US-only CATC voucher | USD 95 | Possible additional center proctoring fees; not valid for OnVUE or Pearson VUE Testing Centers |
Certiport Authorized Testing Centers (CATCs) set their own prices and packages, so the voucher figure is a starting point rather than a guaranteed all-in cost. No member versus non-member tariff is published. For the full picture, see the ACP-AE certification cost breakdown.
Delivery in practice
Candidates test either at a proctored CATC (including center-arranged remote delivery) or through English-only OnVUE. General OnVUE rules require identification, a private monitored room and removal of books and notes, subject to program-specific allowances. The exact rules for calculators, adaptive testing and any resource exceptions for the After Effects exam remain unverified, so check the current requirements page before exam day rather than assuming.
Eligibility
There is no degree requirement and no mandatory purchased course. Adobe's guidance recommends roughly 150 hours of instruction and hands-on practice, but that is a preparation suggestion, not an eligibility rule with documented-hours verification. The ACP-AE requirements guide covers this in detail.
Why This ACP-AE Is Not the Other ACP-AE
The letters "ACP-AE" can be shorthand for other, unrelated credentials in other industries. This site is about exactly one of them: the Adobe After Effects credential described above. A few practical ways to avoid mixing them up:
- Check the certifying body. For this credential it is Adobe, with exams delivered through Certiport.
- Check the exam title. It should read Visual Effects & Motion Graphics Using Adobe After Effects.
- Check the content. If a resource talks about domains, fees or dates that do not match the six headings and the figures above, it is probably describing a different program.
Our related explainers, including what ACP-AE means and what ACP-AE certification is, stay focused on this one credential for exactly that reason.
Who Should Care About This Credential
Because the exam tests both professional context and hands-on skill, the credential fits people whose work touches motion design and visual effects:
- Students and career changers building a verifiable portfolio companion for entry-level motion graphics or video roles.
- Video editors and designers who already use After Effects informally and want a vendor-backed validation of their skills.
- Educators and training programs aligning coursework to an industry-recognized benchmark.
- Freelancers who want a credential to point to when pitching clients on motion work.
Be realistic about its role. The certification validates skill; it does not replace a demo reel, which most motion design employers weigh heavily. Whether the investment pays off for you depends on your goals, and we lay out the trade-offs in is the ACP-AE certification worth it. For job-market context, see our pages on ACP-AE jobs and the ACP-AE salary guide, which stick to qualitative statements rather than invented figures.
Preparing in Line With What the Credential Measures
Since the credential measures practical After Effects skill across six headings, a sensible schedule follows the workflow of a real project rather than random topic hopping. This is the one place for a short planning outline; the ACP-AE study guide goes deeper.
Foundations: Domains 1 and 2
- Learn industry vocabulary and workflow conventions
- Practice project setup, importing assets and navigating the workspace until it feels automatic
Structure and Elements: Domains 3 and 4
- Build compositions with organized layers and precomposes
- Create shapes and text, apply effects and masks
Motion and Delivery: Domains 5 and 6
- Animate with keyframes and timing control under a time limit
- Export compositions with correct settings for a stated destination
Because the exam ends with live tasks, spend your final stretch on timed, hands-on practice in the same version of After Effects you will be tested on. A quick-reference summary can help your last review, which is what the ACP-AE cheat sheet is for. When you want to check your readiness under exam-style conditions, try the ACP-AE practice tests to expose gaps, and review the ACP-AE training options if you need structured instruction first.
Key Takeaway
Treat the acronym as a promise about practical skill. Prepare by building and exporting real compositions in the exact After Effects version you will test on, and confirm the registration details on Certiport before you book.
Frequently Asked Questions
On this site, ACP-AE means the Adobe Certified Professional in Visual Effects & Motion Graphics Using Adobe After Effects credential. "ACP" is Adobe Certified Professional and "AE" is After Effects. It is shorthand rather than a separately verified official exam code.
Adobe defines the credential, and the exam is delivered through Certiport, a Pearson VUE business. You can test at a proctored Certiport Authorized Testing Center or through English-only OnVUE remote delivery.
Certiport's After Effects listing gives 30-35 questions/tasks and 50 minutes, excluding administrative seat time. The format combines selected-response questions with live After Effects tasks. The exact scored/unscored and theory/task splits are not disclosed.
A passing score is 700 on a 1000 scaled range. That is a scaled score, not a verified raw 70 percent, and Certiport does not publish pass/fail rates.
It is valid for three years. To recertify, you purchase and pass the current exam; no continuing-education renewal route is published.