ACP-AE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

ACP-AE Certification

TL;DR
  • ACP-AE here means Adobe Certified Professional in Visual Effects & Motion Graphics Using Adobe After Effects, delivered through Certiport.
  • Expect 30-35 questions and tasks in 50 minutes, with selected-response items followed by live work inside After Effects.
  • The passing score is 700 on a 1000 scaled range, which is not a verified raw 70 percent.
  • US OnVUE costs USD 150; the US-only CATC voucher is USD 95 but is not valid for OnVUE.

What the ACP-AE Credential Actually Certifies

The ACP-AE credential, formally titled Adobe Certified Professional in Visual Effects & Motion Graphics Using Adobe After Effects, is an Adobe credential that validates working skill in After Effects. It is administered through Certiport, a Pearson VUE business. The acronym "ACP-AE" is the shorthand used on this site for that specific After Effects credential; it is not a separately verified official exam code, and you should not confuse it with unrelated certifications that happen to share similar letters.

What sets this exam apart from many IT certifications is that it tests doing, not just knowing. You are asked to demonstrate that you can set up a project, organize compositions, build and modify visual elements, animate them, and publish the result. If you are new to the credential, the explainers at What Is ACP-AE Certification? and What Does ACP-AE Stand For? cover the naming in more detail.

Identity check before you study: Make sure every resource you use refers to the Adobe After Effects credential from Certiport. Material written for legacy ACA/ACE exams, older five-domain outlines, or third-party "weights" should not be treated as a blueprint for this exam.

Exam Format: Questions First, Then Live Tasks in After Effects

Certiport's After Effects listing gives 30-35 questions/tasks and 50 minutes, excluding administrative seat time. You may see other numbers quoted: Adobe's generic FAQ mentions 30 questions, and the program-wide How It Works page mentions 30-45. The After Effects-specific range of 30-35 is the more precise figure, so plan around it. The exact count on any given form, and the split between scored and unscored items or between theory and tasks, is not disclosed.

Two kinds of items

The exam begins with selected-response questions and then moves to live-in-the-app tasks performed in After Effects itself. That structure has practical consequences:

  • Selected-response items test terminology, workflow decisions, and industry concepts. Fast, confident recall helps you bank time.
  • Live tasks require you to actually manipulate a project: creating a composition, adjusting properties, adding keyframes, applying effects, or configuring output. Hesitation about where a panel or setting lives will cost you time you cannot easily recover in a 50-minute window.

Because time is tight, interface fluency matters as much as conceptual knowledge. For a candid look at what makes the exam demanding, see How Hard Is the ACP-AE Exam?

The Six Official Objective Domains

The 2025 exam objectives (exam version 2025, v 25.x) are organized under six headings. Adobe and Certiport do not publish percentage weights for these domains, so there is no official "highest-weight" area. Treat all six as testable, and be skeptical of any site that claims precise percentages. The items listed under each domain below are illustrative examples of the kind of knowledge involved, not an exhaustive list of subtopics. For a deeper walkthrough, read ACP-AE Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas.

Domain 1: Working in the Visual Effects and Motion Graphics Industry

This domain covers the professional context around the software: how motion and effects work fits into production, and the practices that keep projects legal and professional.

  • Understanding project requirements, audiences, and client expectations
  • Awareness of copyright, licensing, and permissions for media you use
  • Communicating about design and production choices using correct terminology

Domain 2: Project Setup and Interface

Here the exam checks whether you can start a project correctly and navigate the workspace efficiently.

  • Creating projects and importing footage and other assets
  • Working with the Project, Timeline, Composition, and related panels
  • Customizing and resetting workspaces; understanding preferences and settings

Domain 3: Organizing Compositions

Compositions are the structural core of After Effects. Expect to demonstrate control over how they are built and managed.

  • Creating compositions with appropriate dimensions, frame rate, and duration
  • Managing layers, layer order, and the timeline
  • Nesting and precomposing, and organizing assets so projects stay readable

Domain 4: Creating and Modifying Visual Elements

This is where design skill meets tool knowledge: building the graphics and effects that populate a composition.

  • Working with shape layers, text layers, solids, and imported artwork
  • Applying and adjusting effects and presets
  • Using masks, mattes, and transformations to modify and combine elements

Domain 5: Animating Visual Elements

Animation is central to the credential's title, and the live tasks lean on it heavily.

  • Setting keyframes on transform and effect properties
  • Refining motion with easing and the graph editor concepts
  • Parenting and linking layers; using expressions or motion helpers at an introductory level

Domain 6: Publishing Digital Media

The final domain covers getting finished work out of After Effects in the right format for its destination.

  • Rendering and exporting via the Render Queue and related output options
  • Choosing formats and settings appropriate to delivery needs
  • Previewing and checking work before final output
Why the missing weights matter: Without published percentages, you cannot safely skip a domain. Domain 1 looks like the "soft" one, yet it feeds the selected-response portion, which is where you can collect points quickly before the timed live tasks begin.

Registration, Delivery Options and Fees

You can sit the exam in one of two ways: a proctored Certiport Authorized Testing Center (CATC), which includes center-arranged remote delivery, or English-only OnVUE online proctoring. Pricing differs by route, and the two voucher types are not interchangeable.

OptionPrice (US)Key points
OnVUE (online proctored)USD 150, per Adobe's FAQEnglish-only; requires a private, monitored room and identification
CATC voucherUSD 95 (US-only)Possible additional center proctoring fees; not valid for OnVUE or Pearson VUE Testing Centers

CATCs set their own prices and packages, so the final amount you pay at a center can differ from the voucher price. There is no published member/nonmember tariff. For a fuller picture of what to budget, including retake considerations, see ACP-AE Certification Cost: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Testing-day rules to prepare for

General OnVUE rules require identification, a private monitored room, and removal of books and notes, subject to any program-specific allowances. Details such as an on-screen calculator, adaptive testing behavior, or any resource exceptions for After Effects are not verified here, so confirm them in your booking confirmation rather than assuming. Scheduling logistics are covered in ACP-AE Exam Dates: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Prerequisites

There is no mandatory course purchase, no degree requirement, and no documented-hours eligibility rule. Adobe and Certiport do recommend approximately 150 hours of instruction and hands-on practice as preparation. That is guidance, not a gate. The full picture is in ACP-AE Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Scoring, Validity and Recertification

The passing score is 700 on a 1000 scaled range. Scaled scoring means that 700 is not a verified raw 70 percent, and you cannot reverse-engineer a number of questions you must answer correctly. Certiport also explicitly does not publish pass/fail rates, so any "pass rate" figure circulating online should be treated with caution; the discussion at ACP-AE Pass Rate: What the Data Shows explains what can and cannot be said. For the scoring mechanics, see ACP-AE Passing Score: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

The credential is valid for three years. There is no published continuing-education or CPE renewal route; to recertify, you purchase and pass the current exam. That makes the exam version you study for worth tracking over time, which brings us to the next section.

Matching Your Software to the Booked Exam Version

The complete six-page objectives document is labelled exam version 2025 (v 25.x), and Adobe's After Effects exam guide explicitly states 2025. Certiport's objective-domains index groups 2026 and 2025 under that same 2025-labelled link. Its release archive shows a new-exam release entry dated July 21, 2026 for the English exam, and its content-updates page lists an October 8, 2026 update. Those entries do not, on their own, establish a separately revised 2026 blueprint.

Key Takeaway

Check which version your booking delivers and install a matching version of After Effects for practice. A mismatch between your study software and the delivered exam can mean unfamiliar panel layouts or renamed features during the timed live tasks.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Domains

The recommended 150 hours is best spent in the application, not reading. A sensible order follows the way the domains build on one another: you cannot animate what you have not created, and you cannot publish what you have not animated. The plan below is one possible sequence; adjust it to your starting skill. A broader walkthrough lives in the ACP-AE Study Guide: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

Weeks 1-2

Industry context and interface (Domains 1 and 2)

  • Learn the professional vocabulary and licensing concepts that the question portion draws on
  • Build muscle memory for panels, workspaces, and importing assets so the live tasks feel familiar
Weeks 3-4

Compositions and visual elements (Domains 3 and 4)

  • Create, nest, and precompose repeatedly until composition settings are second nature
  • Practice shape, text, mask, matte, and effect work on small self-set briefs
Weeks 5-6

Animation and publishing (Domains 5 and 6)

  • Drill keyframes, easing, and parenting against a clock to match the 50-minute pressure
  • Export the same project in several formats and note which settings changed
Final days

Timed run-throughs

Because the live tasks reward speed, rehearse them under time limits rather than at a relaxed pace. Practicing in a realistic format through the main practice test site helps you spot weak domains before exam day.

Who Benefits From This Certification

The credential suits people whose work involves motion graphics, titles, lower thirds, compositing, and short-form video effects: students building a portfolio, freelancers who want a verifiable signal for clients, and in-house creatives at agencies, production houses, broadcast and streaming teams, and marketing departments. It does not replace a demo reel, and employers in this field typically weigh your portfolio heavily. The certification works best as corroboration of fundamentals that a reel alone cannot prove, such as clean project organization and correct output settings.

If you are weighing return on investment, read Is the ACP-AE Certification Worth It?, and for the employment angle, the pages on ACP-AE jobs and ACP-AE salary frame what to expect without relying on invented figures. Training options are summarized in ACP-AE Training.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many questions are on the ACP-AE exam, and how long is it?

Certiport's After Effects listing gives 30-35 questions/tasks and 50 minutes, excluding administrative seat time. The exact form count and the scored versus unscored split are not disclosed.

What score do I need to pass?

The passing score is 700 on a 1000 scaled range. It is not a verified raw 70 percent, and Certiport does not publish pass/fail rates.

Do I need to take a course or hold a degree first?

No. There is no mandatory course purchase, degree, or documented-hours rule. About 150 hours of instruction and hands-on practice is recommended preparation, not an eligibility requirement.

Can I use a CATC voucher for the online OnVUE exam?

No. The US-only CATC voucher (USD 95) is not valid for OnVUE or Pearson VUE Testing Centers. OnVUE in the US is USD 150 per Adobe's FAQ, and CATCs may add their own proctoring fees.

How long does the certification last, and how do I renew it?

It is valid for three years. There is no published CE or CPE renewal route; recertification means purchasing and passing the current exam.

Ready to pass your ACP-AE exam?

Put this into practice with free ACP-AE questions across every exam domain.