- What "Qualifying" Actually Means for This Credential
- Official Prerequisites: What Is and Isn't Required
- Decoding the 150-Hour Recommendation
- Skills You Need Before Booking, Domain by Domain
- Exam Format You Must Be Ready For
- Registration, Fees and Delivery Options
- A Readiness Timeline Built Around the Six Domains
- Who Benefits Most and Who Hires for It
- Validity and Recertification Requirements
- Frequently Asked Questions
- No degree, prior certification or documented work history is required to sit the Adobe After Effects professional exam.
- Adobe and Certiport recommend roughly 150 hours of instruction and hands-on practice, but this is guidance, not a gate.
- The exam combines selected-response questions with live tasks performed inside After Effects, within 50 minutes.
- Passing requires a scaled score of 700 out of 1000; it is not a verified raw 70 percent.
What "Qualifying" Actually Means for This Credential
Many professional certifications gate entry behind years of experience, employer attestations or mandatory training. The Adobe Certified Professional credential in Visual Effects & Motion Graphics Using Adobe After Effects (ACP-AE) takes a very different approach. There is no application to approve, no experience audit and no reference check. To "qualify" means one thing: you are competent enough in After Effects to pass a proctored, performance-heavy exam.
That distinction matters because it changes how you should plan. Instead of collecting paperwork, you are building demonstrable skill across the six exam-objective areas. If you are still orienting yourself, our explainer on what the ACP-AE certification is covers the credential's purpose, and the complete guide to all 6 content areas goes deep on the content you will be tested on.
Official Prerequisites: What Is and Isn't Required
Adobe's published guidance and Certiport's certification pages specify no formal eligibility barriers. Here is how that breaks down in practice:
| Common Requirement | Required for ACP-AE? |
|---|---|
| College degree or diploma | No |
| Prior Adobe certification | No |
| Mandatory purchased course | No |
| Documented hours of work experience | No |
| Professional references or sponsor | No |
| Minimum age or student status | Not specified in the objectives or core certification pages |
| Mastery of the published exam objectives | Yes, this is the real bar |
In other words, the only prerequisite is the skill set described in the official exam objectives (Exam version 2025, v 25.x). Anyone from a self-taught motion designer to a classroom student can register, provided they can meet that standard on exam day.
Decoding the 150-Hour Recommendation
Adobe and Certiport suggest approximately 150 hours of instruction and hands-on practice as recommended preparation. It is important to read this correctly:
- It is not an eligibility rule. Nobody checks a logbook, and you do not submit proof of hours.
- It is not a mandatory course purchase. You may reach readiness through classes, tutorials, client work or a mix.
- It is a calibration point. The exam includes live tasks in the application, so time actually spent animating, masking and rendering counts far more than time spent reading.
If you already work in After Effects daily, you may need far fewer dedicated hours than someone starting from a blank composition. If you are newer, treat 150 hours as a realistic planning figure and budget accordingly. Our ACP-AE study guide shows how to structure that time, and the training overview compares ways to get it.
Skills You Need Before Booking, Domain by Domain
The six official exam-objective headings are the real eligibility checklist. The weights of each heading are not published, so do not assume any one domain can be skipped. The terms below are illustrative examples of what each area touches, not an exhaustive subtopic list.
Domain 1: Working in the Visual Effects and Motion Graphics Industry
This is the professional-context area: how motion work is planned, communicated and delivered in real production settings.
- Understanding project requirements, audiences and client expectations
- Awareness of copyright, licensing and appropriate use of assets
- Vocabulary used by motion and VFX teams
Domain 2: Project Setup and Interface
You must move around the application confidently and configure projects correctly from the start.
- Creating projects and importing footage and assets
- Navigating panels, workspaces and the timeline
- Adjusting preferences and project settings
Domain 3: Organizing Compositions
Clean structure is a recurring theme in the live tasks.
- Creating and configuring compositions
- Managing layers, nested compositions and precomposing
- Keeping project panels organized and named logically
Domain 4: Creating and Modifying Visual Elements
This is where creative tooling meets technical control.
- Working with text, shape layers and solids
- Applying masks, effects and keying or compositing techniques
- Adjusting color and appearance of layers
Domain 5: Animating Visual Elements
Expect to demonstrate motion, not just describe it.
- Setting keyframes and adjusting easing and interpolation
- Using the Graph Editor and animation presets
- Animating transform properties, text and effect parameters
Domain 6: Publishing Digital Media
Finishing the work correctly is part of the job, and part of the exam.
- Rendering and exporting compositions
- Choosing formats and settings suited to the destination
- Preparing deliverables for web, broadcast or social use
For a deeper treatment, including how the headings relate to each other, see the ACP-AE exam domains guide.
Exam Format You Must Be Ready For
Knowing the format is part of meeting the practical requirements, because you cannot prepare well for a test whose structure surprises you. Certiport's After Effects listing gives 30 to 35 questions or tasks in 50 minutes, excluding administrative seat time. The exact count on a given form, along with the scored versus unscored split and the theory versus task proportions, is not disclosed.
Adobe's general FAQ cites 30 questions, while the program-wide "How It Works" page references a broader 30 to 45 range. The After Effects-specific range of 30 to 35 is the most reliable figure, so plan around that.
- Selected-response questions come first and test knowledge of tools, terminology and workflow decisions.
- Live-in-the-app tasks follow, requiring you to actually perform operations in After Effects.
- The clock is tight. Fifty minutes across both styles means you need fluency, not trial and error.
Curious how demanding this combination feels in practice? Read how hard the ACP-AE exam is for a candid breakdown, and use the ACP-AE practice tests to rehearse under timed conditions.
Registration, Fees and Delivery Options
Booking runs through Certiport, a Pearson VUE business, which is the testing provider for Adobe's certification program. There are two main delivery routes.
| Option | How It Works | Cost Notes |
|---|---|---|
| OnVUE online proctoring | English-only, taken from a private room with remote monitoring | US price of USD 150 per Adobe's FAQ |
| Certiport Authorized Testing Center (CATC) | Proctored at a center, including center-arranged remote delivery | US-only CATC voucher at USD 95; centers may add proctoring fees and set their own packages |
Some details deserve emphasis:
- The USD 95 CATC voucher is not valid for OnVUE or for Pearson VUE Testing Centers.
- CATCs set their own pricing, so the final amount you pay at a center can differ.
- No separate member or nonmember tariff is published.
For the full financial picture, including retake considerations, see our ACP-AE certification cost breakdown.
OnVUE Environment Rules
If you choose remote delivery, general OnVUE rules apply. Expect to present identification, test in a private room that is monitored, and remove books and notes from your workspace, subject to any program-specific allowances. Exact details for After Effects, such as calculator availability, adaptive-testing behavior and any resource exceptions, are not verified here, so check the current Pearson VUE requirements page before booking.
A Readiness Timeline Built Around the Six Domains
Since there is no application process, your "requirements" plan is really a skills plan. The sequence below assumes you are building toward the roughly 150 hours of recommended practice and puts the most exam-relevant habits first. Adjust the pacing to your starting level.
Domains 2 and 3: Setup, Interface, Compositions
- Build projects from scratch, import mixed media and configure compositions repeatedly until it is automatic
- Practice nesting and precomposing so the live tasks never stall on structure
Domain 4: Creating and Modifying Visual Elements
- Work through text, shapes, masks and effects daily
- Rebuild common looks without tutorials to confirm recall
Domain 5: Animating Visual Elements
- Drill keyframes, easing and the Graph Editor
- Time yourself completing small animation tasks
Domains 1 and 6: Industry Context and Publishing
- Review professional-practice vocabulary and licensing concepts
- Export the same composition to several destinations and compare settings
Timed Simulation
- Take full timed practice runs against the 50-minute limit
- Revisit any domain where tasks felt slow
Interface and composition habits come first because every live task depends on them; slow navigation costs time on every question that follows. Keep the finishing domain for late in the plan so rendering choices are fresh in your mind close to exam day. The ACP-AE cheat sheet is a useful companion for the final review.
Who Benefits Most and Who Hires for It
The credential suits several overlapping audiences: students building a first portfolio and credential, freelance motion designers seeking third-party validation, video editors adding animation and compositing skills, and marketing or social teams producing branded motion content in-house. Employers in these areas include creative agencies, production studios, broadcast and streaming teams, and corporate communications departments.
It is worth being realistic: a certification does not replace a strong reel, and hiring managers in motion work weigh portfolios heavily. The credential works best as a verified baseline that supports your portfolio, particularly early in a career or when pitching to clients who do not know your work. We explore roles in ACP-AE jobs, discuss earning potential in the salary guide, and weigh the investment in whether the certification is worth it.
Validity and Recertification Requirements
Once earned, the certification is valid for three years. To renew, you purchase and pass the current version of the exam. There is no published continuing-education or CPE route to extend the credential, so do not plan around collecting credits. Because the exam content tracks the current software release, recertification effectively doubles as a refresher on newer features.
Key Takeaway
Treat requirements as a skills target, not a paperwork hurdle. Confirm the software version, budget for the correct voucher type, and spend your hours inside After Effects completing timed tasks across all six domains.
For the scoring side of the equation, read about the ACP-AE passing score, which explains the 700 out of 1000 scaled threshold and why it should not be treated as a simple 70 percent.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. Adobe and Certiport list no degree, prior certification, work-history or reference requirements. The only practical prerequisite is the ability to perform the skills in the official exam objectives for the Adobe After Effects professional credential.
No. About 150 hours of instruction and hands-on practice is recommended preparation, not an eligibility rule. You are not asked to document hours or buy a specific course, though building comparable in-app experience is wise.
It starts with selected-response questions and then moves to live tasks performed in After Effects. Certiport lists 30 to 35 questions or tasks in 50 minutes, with exact scored and unscored splits undisclosed.
A scaled score of 700 out of 1000. This is not a verified raw 70 percent, and Certiport does not publish pass or fail rates, so be cautious of sites claiming specific percentages.
Register through Certiport and choose OnVUE online delivery or a Certiport Authorized Testing Center. The US OnVUE price is USD 150 per Adobe's FAQ, while a US-only CATC voucher is USD 95 and may carry extra center fees.
Three years. To renew, you buy and pass the current exam; there is no published continuing-education route to extend it.
If you are ready to test your readiness against the real format, try the ACP-AE practice exams and review the exam dates and scheduling guide to plan your booking.